A Wine Bloggers Song in 3 Parts. Part I: When in a Funk, “Funky Pinot” to the Rescue!

La, la, la, la, la. ♩♫

Music is often on my mind. Maybe that’s because I’m married to an Ethnomusicologist. Lately, it may be even more so because of the passing of  that great musical artist David Bowie.

Wine is always on my mind.

Hence, this post- and the two to follow.

Disclaimer: if you think this post is going to be about Pinot Noir or any other grape with “Pinot” in its name, it’s not. This is a tribute to an “old school” Nebbiolo that my was  renamed “Funky Pinot” by my witty and wise husband.

Once I asked someone in the wine business what was the wine that won his heart and it was a Barolo  – a temple to the Nebbiolo grape. Got me thinking: why wasn’t Nebbiolo a bigger part of my wine journey to date?  With a focus on more affordable alternatives to Barolo and Barbaresco (the more “feminine” Nebbiolo based wine from the same region – the Piedmont of Italy), I tried 5 different ones in 5 weeks and did a poor job of documenting what I tasted.

But that is ok, because the other night dinner was accompanied by a Langhe Nebbiolo (note: the grapes used are the ones that did not make the cut for Barbaresco) made by the prestigious producer Produtorri del Barbaresco – an amazing wine cooperative. When I purchased it, I was assured that it was “old school” and excellent.  What I encountered over delivered on the promise.

Just what the doctor ordered. Life is a rollercoaster and I was riding a big dip when this beautiful wine came to me and reminded me of why I fell in love with wine in the first place.

My blue funk all gone, especially when I realized that my husband had bought me a bottle of Barbaresco for my birthday from the same producer! Wheeeeeeeee!

IMG_1124

This entry was posted in Grape and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Wine Bloggers Song in 3 Parts. Part I: When in a Funk, “Funky Pinot” to the Rescue!

  1. Made in Rome says:

    Mmm… nebbiolo. Gotta grab a bottle this weekend!

  2. Jeffrey Callen says:

    Funky funky Pinot!

Leave a Reply

