On Bordeaux and that Moment When…

Last week I had the pleasure of attending a Bordeaux tasting focused on the Right Bank, specifically the Grande Cru Classes of Saint-Emilion.  The room was a familiar one, Terra, located South of Market right near the Freeway, a place that frequently hosts tastings. The last time I was there I had the enviable task of exploring Italian wines.

The room looked exactly the same – a barebones layout with two small but heaven-sent cheese stations.  I approached my taste with my usual combination of curiosity and glee, asking the representatives to share stories of the wines. Many of the wines were fine specimens of two different vintages – 2010 (a very good one – the third dream year in a row) and 2012 (a more challenging one with heavy October rains). I tasted Chateau Chauvin, Chateau Clos de Sarpe, Chateau Corbin, Chateau des Jacorbins, Chateau de Pressac (recently reclassified from Grande Cru to Grande Cru Classe´), Chateau Fonroque, and Chateau Grand Corbin-Despagne.

My mind kept wandering and I drifted over to the leather sofas in the adjoining space. Looking back at the busy tasting space, I realized “this is my life” – one I never would have imagined for myself. I found myself in a moment of reflection, appreciation and astonishment.

Is was not long ago that I was chastised by a staffer at a winery who told me that I was wrong, their Merlot based Bordeaux blend was not like a Right Bank Bordeaux – it was Left Bank inspired. (I later got an apology in the form of a bottle of wine from that winery-I-will-not-name.)

Wine is at the center of my life and is helping me become the person I was meant to be. Used to be I was taken for a loop by people’s skepticism. I see it everyday but what should I do about it? Used to be I wanted to shout and show them how much I know about wine, how much experience I have, etc. No longer. I just look inside and know that I know what I know, my experiences are just that and I will always be able to put them in service to helping others find joy and meaning in wine.

Even if that means writing a blog post for you occasionally to talk less about wine and more about wisdom. Then again, that is my mission for founding Wine & Soul – a place where wine and wisdom meet!

IMG_1003V_White

This entry was posted in Soul, Wine Tasting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Bordeaux and that Moment When…

  1. Well done, for dedicating you life (and this blog post) to wine 🙂

Leave a Reply

