Week #5: Know Your Producer/Know Your Importer! (Relationships Matter.)

IMG_0547IMG_0546IMG_0550

Certainly one vital way to get to know your producers is through the importers who have deep relationships with them. Kermit Lynch is one of those importers; and knowing good importers is a shortcut to choosing a good wine in this era of a dizzying amount of choice. Relationships matter, and I wish I could have direct relationships with winemakers in France but since I do not, I am grateful that importers like Kermit Lynch do.

I wrote about Cru Beaujolais for week #3 and so obviously I have a “thing” about it. So what better way to spend a Sunday afternoon than face-to-face with a line-up of Kermit Lynch’s imports of Cru Beaujolais? Here it what was awaiting my eager palate:

2013 Guy Breton, Beaujolais Villages “Marylou” – $23.95

2012 Domaine Robert Denogent Beaujolais Villages “Cuvee Jules Chauvet” – $29.95

2013 Chateau Thivin, Beaujolais Cru Cote de Brouilly – $24.95

2005 Nicole Charion Domaine de la Voute des Crozes, Beaujolais Cru Cote de Brouilly – $39.95

2012 Foillard, Beaujolais Cru Morgon, “Cote de Py” – $39.95

2011 Foillard Beaujolais Cru Fleurie, $49.99

2010 Foillard, Beaujolais Cru Fleurie – $49.99

All lovely in their own right but my three favorites were the Guy Breton, the “Cote du Py” and the 2010 Fleurie. I call the middle one “liquid love” because it showcases the best of cru Beaujolais”: bright fruit, earth and violets – all in a balanced package.
Granted these are not everyday values that I review in my “ordinaire” blog posts but they provide more value for your dollar than that other wine made nearby: Red Burgundy. Happy Thanksgiving to me as I will be opening one of these with my feast on Thursday. 😉

So I retain my super hero identity and bring you Gamay at its finest. Once, I heard a woman say to the person tending the wine bar, “I don’t like Gamay.” Oddly enough, she waxed poetic about Pinot Noir, which shares many of the same characteristics – light body, bright fruits, low tannins, etc.

So if you did not take me up on the opportunity to “get to know” Gamay after my last post, here is a second chance to give it a try.

And as always, please share with me what you discover! I have only two goals for this blog: building relationships and building community.

A toast to your next adventure in wine, and remember, “I am Batman,” a superhero always ready to save you from ho-hum wine and to lead you to wine that speaks to your heart and soul.

This entry was posted in Grape, Odds and Sods, Region and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

