Week 2: Cava with Comfort Food

IMG_0507

Dibon Brut Reserva Cava Penedes is a value wine of epic proportions. Wildly available – I found it at my local market in Bernal Heights for $8.99– and madly good. So I love Cava and so was skeptical but after putting the wine to test, I am a believer. Forget the price, the nose is yeasty and toasty and for me the apricot on the palate is balanced in rapid succession by citrus notes and chalky minerality. And it has cred: a Wine Enthusiasts “best buy” and a “good value” by wine and Spirits Magazine. The Dibon is a blend of Xarel-lo, Parellada and Macabeo grapes that does not taste cheap.

So for me wine and food are inseparable and so I put it to test by pairing it with my fried chicken. My mother was from South Carolina and so it’s in my blood – my recipe consists of a complex mixture of spices, marinating in milk soured with (Crystal) hot sauce, a flour/cornstarch batter, a paper bag last shake, a twice-frying method. The result is juicy, savory and grease-free deliciousness. If you want to know more, please ping me.

Taking it up a notch: If you find you like Penedes cava and want something not priced at the “ordinaire” level, I would recommend Raventos Blanc de Nit Rosado Cava. The price point is $25 dollars but you get a $50 mouthful. Last Thanksgiving my partner and I had a bottle with our nontraditional feast at the El Dorado Kitchen in Sonoma –we shared some with the table next to us. Whatever vintage you score, you won’t be disappointed. Trust me.

Please share your thoughts and discoveries in the world of Cava. Who would have thought that sparkling wine could be so every day?

This entry was posted in Cuisine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

